UCR

Center for Plant Cell Biology



IGERT Annual Retreats


igert logo

Annual Chem Gen IGERT Retreats

IGERT Retreat Brochure Cover 

Purpose

As the scientific community moves into the post-genomic era, it becomes essential that communication barriers between disciplines be minimized. To prepare students for the interdisciplinary future, the ChemGen IGERT program holds an intensive two-day retreat each September (2005-2011). The retreat agenda is designed to foster effective interaction and communication between students and faculty of different academic backgrounds, and includes: presentations on current and future projects by participating faculty; an invited keynote speaker who presents on a novel research perspective that is apropos or ancillary to chemical genomics; open discussions; team building activities; interactive workshops; and concludes with formal presentations by students. As the student number increases, the retreat will be extended by half a day to accommodate the student presentations.


Sixth Annual ChemGen IGERT Retreat: October 15-16, 2010

The sixth annual CEPCEB ChemGen IGERT Retreat was held for the first time in the state-of-the-art Genomics Building Auditorium. Philip N. Benfey, a National Academy of Sciences member and Paul Kramer Professor of Biology/Director IGSP Center for Systems Biology at Duke University, opened the retreat on Friday evening, October 15, 2010 with a talk titled: "Development Rooted in Interwoven Networks." The meeting included talks throughout Saturday, October 16, 2010 by 16 ChemGen IGERT students and one faculty member.

2010 ChemGen Retreat Program (pdf)

 IGERT Retreat Group 2010
2010 ChemGen IGERT Retreat Faculty and Student Participants

 IGERT Students 2010
2010 ChemGen IGERT Retreat Student Participants


Fifth Annual ChemGen IGERT Retreat: October 2-4, 2009

The Fifth Annual ChemGen IGERT Retreat was held at the UCLA Lake Arrowhead Conference Center from Friday, October 2nd to Sunday, October 4th, 2009. The keynote speaker was Terence Walsh from the Discovery Research & Development branch of Dow AgroSciences, who opened the retreat with a talk titled: "Selectivity & Plant Fate of Novel Phytotoxins: Some Chemical Genetic Case Studies." The meeting included talks by ChemGen IGERT students and faculty members who highlighted their progress in Chemical Genomics research.

IGERT Retreat 2009
2009 ChemGen IGERT Retreat Faculty and Student Participants
IGERT Retreat 2009 Students
2009 ChemGen IGERT Retreat Student Participants


Fourth Annual ChemGen IGERT Retreat: October 3-5, 2008

The Fourth Annual ChemGen IGERT Retreat was held at the UCLA Lake Arrowhead Conference Center from Friday, October 3rd to Sunday, October 5th, 2008. The keynote speaker for the Retreat was Peter McCourt, Professor in the department of Cell & Systems Biology at the University of Toronto. Dr. McCourt opened the weekend retreat with a talk titled "A Role for Strigolactones in Arabidopsis: A New Plant Hormone," and was followed by talks by 15 ChemGen IGERT graduate students and six participating faculty members. A poster session and a few social activities were scheduled throughout the weekend.

Please view the 2008 program for details regarding speakers and topics.

IGERT 2008 Retreat
2008 ChemGen IGERT Retreat Faculty and Student Participants


Third Annual ChemGEN IGERT Retreat: November 2-4, 2007

Dates and Program

The third annual CEPCEB ChemGen IGERT Retreat was held at a different location from the previous two years - the Warner Springs Ranch in San Diego County - as it was also attended by members from the University of California, San Diego Plant Systems Biology IGERT program. The event was successful this year in demonstrating the development a very vibrant chemical genomics program at UCR with not only a true chemical component but also a very visible computational one. The retreat opened with a talk by the ChemGen IGERT Associate Director, Sean Cutler, titled "Molecular Dissection of a Small Molecule ABA Agonist" on Friday evening, November 2nd, and continued throughout the weekend with 13 graduate students, five faculty members, and two postgraduate/professional researchers discussing projects involving chemical genomic approaches. The presence of four students from UCSD's IGERT program allowed for an additional exchange of ideas and opportunities for potential collaborations.

Please view the 2007 program for details regarding speakers and topics.

grp07
2007 ChemGen IGERT Retreat Faculty and Student Participants
students activities


Second Annual ChemGen IGERT Retreat: October 20-22, 2006

The second annual CEPCEB ChemGen IGERT Retreat was held at the UCLA Lake Arrowhead Conference Center. The 2006 keynote speaker was Thomas Kodadek, Professor of Internal Medicine and Molecular Biology at the University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center. Dr. Kodadeck's talk was titled "Understanding the Roles of the Proteasome in Transcription: A (Partially) Chemical Approach." The retreat started at 5pm on Friday, October 20, continued until 1pm on Sunday, October 22, and included short talks by ChemGen IGERT students as well as faculty participants.

The retreat was a tremendous success. Plant biologists, chemists, engineers and computational scientists are demonstrating the benefits of interacting, learning and establishing collaborations with each other. It is clear that the UCR ChemGen IGERT has created a new culture of exchange and cooperation, and the university acknowledges and appreciates the support of NSF in establishing a new generation of interdisciplinary scholars.

Please view the 2006 program for additional presentations.

group photo
2006 ChemGen IGERT Retreat Faculty and Student Participants


First Annual ChemGen IGERT Retreat: September 16-18, 2005

The first annual retreat of the ChemGen IGERT Program held at the UCLA Conference Center at Lake Arrowhead on September 16-18, 2005 was coordinated by Julia Bailey-Serres, the IGERT Program Chair. Sean Cutler, from the Department of Botany at the University of Toronto, who is an active "chemical genomicist," presented the keynote talk titled "Probing Natural Variation with Small Molecules." Please view the program (link below) for additional presentations.

The first annual retreat was attended by the following 28 faculty and students.

NAME
TITLE
LAB/DEPT
EMAIL
Julia Bailey-Serres (Program Director) Professor of Genetics Botany & Plant Sciences julia.bailey@ucr.edu
Katherine Borkovich Professor & Plant Pathologist Plant Pathology katherine.borkovich@ucr.edu
David Carter Academic Coordinator, Microscopy/Imaging Center for Plant Cell Biology dcarter@ucr.edu
Xuemei Chen Associate Professor of Plant Cell & Molecular Biology Botany & Plant Sciences xuemei.chen@ucr.edu
Craig Boucher Graduate Student Computer Science & Engineering cebouche@cs.ucr.edu
Sean Cutler (Keynote Speaker) Assistant Professor, CRC in Plant Functional Genomics Department of Botany, University of Toronto cutler@botany.utoronto.ca
Shou-wei Ding Professor and Plant Pathologist Plant Pathology shou-wei.ding@ucr.edu
Erin Duncan Graduate Student Graduate Program in Chemistry edunc001@student.ucr.edu
Samer Elkashef Graduate Student Graduate Program in Genetics, Genomics and Bioinformatics selka001@student.ucr.edu
Thomas Eulgem Assistant Professor of Plant Cell Biology Botany & Plant Sciences thomas.eulgem@ucr.edu
Thomas Girke Academic Coordinator, Bioinformatics Center for Plant Cell Biology thomas.girke@ucr.edu
Glenn Hicks Research Plant Cell Biologist Center for Plant Cell Biology glenn.hicks@ucr.edu
Charles Jang Graduate Student Graduate Program in Chemistry cjang001@student.ucr.edu
Hailing Jin Assistant Professor Plant Pathology hailing.jin@ucr.edu
James Kim Graduate Student Cell, Molecular, & Developmental Biology Graduate Program jamesdmkim@yahoo.com
Colleen Knoth Graduate Student Plant Biology Graduate Program cknoth2@msn.com
Julian Krause Undergraduate Student Computer Science & Engineering krausej@cs.ucr.edu
Jiayu Liao Assistant Professor Bioengineering jiayu.liao@ucr.edu
Stefano Lonardi Assistant Professor Computer Science & Engineering stefano.lonardi@ucr.edu
Elizabeth Lord Professor of Botany; Vice Provost-Academic Personnel Botany & Plant Sciences/Chancellor's/EVC&Provost Office elizabeth.lord@ucr.edu
Christiana Merrywell Graduate Student Graduate Program in Chemistry cmerr001@student.ucr.edu
Marcela Pierce Postgraduate Researcher Botany & Plant Sciences marcela.pierce@ucr.edu
Michael Pirrung Professor Chemistry
Natasha Raikhel Distinguished Professor of Plant Cell Biology, Director Center for Plant Cell Biology natasha.raikhel@ucr.edu
Jerome Schultz Distinguished Professor Chemical & Environmental Engineering jerome.schultz@ucr.edu
Harley Smith Assistant Professor of Plant Cell Biology Botany & Plant Sciences harley.smith@ucr.edu
Yinsheng Wang Assistant Professor of Chemistry Chemistry yinsheng.wang@ucr.edu
Zhenbiao Yang Professor of Cell Biology Botany & Plant Sciences zhenbiao.yang@ucr.edu
05 Group retreat
2005 ChemGen IGERT Retreat Faculty and Student Participants

 


More Information

General Campus Information

University of California, Riverside
900 University Ave.
Riverside, CA 92521
Tel: (951) 827-1012

Career OpportunitiesUCR Libraries
Campus StatusDirections to UCR

Center Information

Center for Plant Cell Biology
Botany & Plant Sciences Department
2150 Batchelor Hall

Tel: (951) 827-7177
Fax: (951) 827-5155
E-mail: genomics@ucr.edu

Footer